gfx gfx
gfx gfx
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
gfx gfx
gfx gfx

  • Welcome at our new home!!!

    This is the Snej Portal, home of several D2 Modifications and D2SE
  • On our Realmserver you can find this hosted Mods:

    Snej
    Reign of Shadows (RoS)
    Eastern Sun (ES)
  • You can also find the home of the

    Aftermath Mod here

    http://snej.org/forum/index.php?board=674.0
gfx gfx
gfx
September 24, 2017, 05:24:40 AM
*
gfx gfx
gfx* Home Help Search Login Registergfx

Author Topic: D2SE not starting after changing video modes  (Read 450 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bluechimeraTopic starter

  • Witch Doctor Endugu
  • **
  • Posts: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • All who oppose me... beware
D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« on: June 01, 2017, 06:35:02 AM »
Hey all,
I was testing some different video modes and when I tested Aftermath with D3D, it crashed.
now, when i try to start ANY mod, the computer is busy for a quarter of a second, and then doesn't load anything.
tried multiple times, in other video modes, and even restarted my PC, but no D2SE mod will load.


I also tried other installations of D2 that I use for other mods (NON-D2SE), like Resurgence and Median, and they work... so it seems tied to D2SE somehow.

Any suggestions?


Thanks!
Wherever you go... There you are!

Offline Seltsamuel

  • Administrator
  • Duriel
  • **
  • Posts: 1820
  • Gender: Male
    • Snej-Mod Homepage
Re: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2017, 10:59:30 AM »
Hi,

i dont think this is a D2SE problem.

Baseinstall still below 1.14x?
Compatibility settings on d2se.exe still ok? Still run as admin?

Try to start d2vidtst again.

Newest Displaydriver from the site of the manufacturer still installed?

Greetings

Seltsamuel

Offline SpiKe.

  • Global Moderator
  • Web Mage the Burning
  • *
  • Posts: 314
  • Gender: Male
    • Reign of Shadow
Re: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2017, 02:18:20 PM »
I'm not 100% sure but i think that I've read that the High Resolution Plugin requures the fixed D2Common.dll + Glide to run properly.

Offline bluechimeraTopic starter

  • Witch Doctor Endugu
  • **
  • Posts: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • All who oppose me... beware
Re: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2017, 07:15:06 AM »
 @Selts : It only fails to load in the D2SE install version of my D2, I have other D2 installs in different directories for Median and Resurgence mods, and they work.
When I tried to run Aftermath in D3D, it crashed, and now all mods including vanilla D2 in my D2SE install directory fail to load.

@Spike, that is possible, but shouldn't it release after i restart the PC? I was only testing in D3D, and now it wont run anything :(
Wherever you go... There you are!

Offline Seltsamuel

  • Administrator
  • Duriel
  • **
  • Posts: 1820
  • Gender: Male
    • Snej-Mod Homepage
Re: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2017, 05:58:10 PM »
Hi,

having parallel instalations of D2 is always evil because the PATH to the files of D2 is inside the registry and only exists ONCE!
As i know the launcher of median changes files .. and i dont know where it gets the path from... make sure the files of the d2se install are clean and the registry points to this folder.

Greetings

Seltsamuel

Offline bluechimeraTopic starter

  • Witch Doctor Endugu
  • **
  • Posts: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • All who oppose me... beware
Re: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2017, 02:36:41 AM »
Yes if you use an installer, it does point to the registry path, which is currently a clean install on a 3rd drive.
To my knowledge, only installers and bnet registry keys utilize the registry or registry path.

I will just reinstall again.


Thanks :)
Wherever you go... There you are!

Offline bluechimeraTopic starter

  • Witch Doctor Endugu
  • **
  • Posts: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • All who oppose me... beware
Re: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2017, 04:28:25 PM »
Alright, so I finally got around to uninstalling everything Diablo 2 on my PC.
After I reinstalled and updated to 1.13d, I noticed it still wasn't launching, but when I tried launching the diablo II.exe, it says it wants the CD (but it is the digital version, which worked before, and I verified all files are there)
If I run game.exe, Diablo 2 will launch and is playable. S,o it would seem "diablo II.exe" is the culprit
I am running in XP SP2 compatibility, and administrator mode for both Diablo 2.exe and Game.exe.

Any ideas as to what the problem is?
I ran CCleaner too...

I bet if I could get D2SE to use Game.exe instead of Diablo II.exe, it would run.... but I want to fix the Diablo II.exe issue. :(
« Last Edit: June 25, 2017, 04:35:31 PM by bluechimera »
Wherever you go... There you are!

Offline SpiKe.

  • Global Moderator
  • Web Mage the Burning
  • *
  • Posts: 314
  • Gender: Male
    • Reign of Shadow
Re: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2017, 05:15:29 PM »
Are you on Windows 10? Try to run as Admin with Windows 7 compatibility. Windows XP doesn't work well on Windows 10.

Offline bluechimeraTopic starter

  • Witch Doctor Endugu
  • **
  • Posts: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • All who oppose me... beware
Re: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2017, 04:56:05 AM »
I am on Win 10, but I already tried running compatibility for Win 7 too.
The thing is, my setup used to work before with admin and XP compatibility.
Game.exe works, but Diablo II.exe doesn't.


I don't get it, it is a fresh install, and registry is clean.  :-\
Wherever you go... There you are!

Offline SpiKe.

  • Global Moderator
  • Web Mage the Burning
  • *
  • Posts: 314
  • Gender: Male
    • Reign of Shadow
Re: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2017, 08:25:49 AM »
Don't set any rights to game.exe or diabloII.exe. Only set your rights to D2SE.exe and try again to run it.

Offline bluechimeraTopic starter

  • Witch Doctor Endugu
  • **
  • Posts: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • All who oppose me... beware
Re: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2017, 01:45:41 PM »
Hmmm, that is odd!
Diablo 2.exe still wont load after your suggestion, but D2SE now runs again.
I am not sure how that works, but thanks a bunch, Spike!!
Wherever you go... There you are!

Offline Seltsamuel

  • Administrator
  • Duriel
  • **
  • Posts: 1820
  • Gender: Male
    • Snej-Mod Homepage
Re: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
« Reply #11 on: June 30, 2017, 12:52:14 AM »
Hi,

its easy to explain.. diablo2.exe is simply not used and a remain of old days .. its just a unneeded wrapper that just starts game.exe
D2SE does not use diablo2.exe and even not uses game.exe as it is no wrapper but a replacement of game.exe and as such has to be run as administrator.

Greetings

Seltsamuel


Snejportal  |  D2SE  |  D2SE Modmanager  |  Topic: D2SE not starting after changing video modes
 

gfxgfx
gfx
SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines  Snejtheme V2 by Seltsamuel/Faust (based on Helios Multi by Bloc)
gfx